FY04 Artists Fellowship Awards

Illinois Arts Council Announces FY04 Artists Fellowship Award Recipients

Chicago ---The Illinois Arts Council (IAC) is pleased to announce the fiscal year 2004 Artists Fellowship Awards recipients. Non-matching fellowships in fixed amounts of $7,000 are awarded to Illinois artists in recognition of their outstanding work and commitment within the arts. This year, 49 Illinois artists will receive Fellowships totaling $343,000.

Finalist Awards of $700 are also awarded to 27 Illinois artists for a total of $18,900. The Finalist Award category recognizes and encourages additional applicants who demonstrate considerable talent.

The Artists Fellowship Program offers funding for 12 artistic disciplines on a two-year rotating cycle. This year's Fellowship and Finalist Award recipients were selected from 550 creative artists working in seven disciplines: Choreography, Crafts, Ethnic and Folk Arts,

Media Arts, New Performance Forms, Prose and Scriptworks. In fiscal year 2005, awards will be offered in the five other disciplines: Interdisciplinary/Computer Art, Music Composition, Photography, Poetry and Visual Arts.

The following jurors reviewed this year’s applications:

  • CHOREOGRAPHY: Peggy Choy, Madison, WI; David Marchant, St Louis, MO; Becky Heist, St Paul MN
  • CRAFTS: Eddie Dominguez, Albiqui, NM; Arturo Sandoval, Lexington, KY; Claire Sanford, Gloucester, MA
  • ETHNIC AND FOLK ARTS: Deb Bailey, Columbia, MO; Larry Morrisey, Jackson, MS; Kim Nguyen, Highland Park, NJ; Carolyn Johnson, Chicago, IL (in-state juror)
  • MEDIA ARTS: Tony Cokes, Warwick, RI; Steve Peters, Albuquerque, NM
  • NEW PERFORMANCE FORMS: Regie Cabico, New York, NY; Leilani Chan, Los Angeles, CA; Marcus Young, St Paul, MN
  • PROSE: Faith Adiele, Pittsburgh, PA; Susan Taylor Chehak, Los Angeles, CA; Joe Ashby Porter, Durham, NC
  • SCRIPTWORKS: Anthony Flacco, Toluca Lake, CA; Adrienne Earle Pender, Willow Springs, NC; Mark Clayton Southers, Pittsburgh, PA

Following are the Fiscal Year 2004 Artists Fellowship and Finalist Award recipients listed by discipline.


Lane AlexanderChicago$7,000
Jan BartoszekChicago$7,000
Rachel Leigh BuntingChicago$700
Jan ErkertChicago$7,000
Atalee JudyChicago$700
Cynthia OliverUrbana$7,000
Eduardo VilaroChicago$7,000
Elizabeth WymoreChicago$7,000
Daniel AndersonEdwardsville$7,000
Jerry Bleem Cicero $7,000 
Darlys EwoldtChicago $700 
Lucy A Jahns Green Oaks $700  
Tom Lauerman Chicago $7,000 
Christine LoFaso Chicago $7,000 
Andrew Macdonald DeSoto $7,000  
Darrel Morris  Chicago $7,000  
Ann Coddington Rast Champaign $700  
Kurt B Webb Palatine $700 
SunKoo Yuh  Macomb $7,000  
Issa Boulos Elmwood Park $700 
Judith Joseph Northbrook$7,000 
Gustavo Lopez  Chicago $7,000 
Shoba Natarajan Naperville $7,000 
Rajeswari Pariti Naperville $700 
Edna J Patterson-Petty  East Saint Louis $7,000  
Victor G Pichardo Oak Park $7,000 
R W 'Bill' RobinsonSaint Charles $7,000 
Doris Sikorsky Chicago$700 
Susan Young  Cedarville $700  
Lina Bertucci Chicago $700  
Greg Boozell Mahomet $7,000 
C A Griffith Chicago $7,000 
Ted HardinChicago$700
Jeffrey MaccubbinChicago$7,000
Malcolm R MajeskeChicago$7,000
Silvia MalagrinoChicago$700
Lou MallozziChicago$7,000
Vance L MellenChicago$7,000
Natasha SpencerChicago$700
Wenhwa Ts'aoChicago$7,000
Matthew AdrianSomonauk$700
Carson Grace BeckerChicago$700
Bilal DardaiChicago$7,000
Lydia R DiamondChicago$7,000
L James DonovanChicago$700
Joel Drake JohnsonChicago$700
Aline LathropChicago$7,000
Reginald LawrenceChicago$7,000
Margaret LewisEvanston$7,000
Darlette E McAlpinEvanston$7,000
Robert TengesChicago$7,000


The Illinois Arts Council, a state agency, is committed to the cultural, educational and economic growth of the diverse people and communities of our state through support and encouragement of artists and the arts.


Contact Information