Daniel Leahy Jazz Septet

Running Feet: 
Running Time: 
90 minutes
Security Requirements: 
Artist / Program Description: 

The Daniel Leahy Jazz Septet members are: 

Daniel Leahy (piano), John Tate (bass), Thomas Marko (percussion), David Hoffman (trumpet), Raphael Crawford (trombone), and Douglas Stone (saxophone), Pippi Ardennia (vocalist). This seven-piece ensemble's artistic vision is to offer jazz to each individual participant in a fresh and personal manner. Our collective hope is that musicians and audiences of all ages and abilities have the opportunity to participate and experience the joy that is associated with jazz improvisation. Our desire is to inspire individual expression and creativity while helping to preserve this American musical art form.

We've selected seven professionals with a lifetime of experience in performance and education. These phenomenal musicians have countless academic successes in assisting within the individual sections of big bands, as well as smaller ensemble configurations.

Our concert performance is a variety of instrumental and vocal selections from the 30s and 40s, as well as recent contemporary styles and original compositions that allow us to introduce Swing, Bebop, Soul, and Latin rhythms. The running time of these concerts is usually between sixty and ninety minutes. We also perform fresh original jazz and transformational compositions by members of our ensemble. Let us design an instructional or performance package for your individual needs.

Performing artist/company/ensemble